Author Topic: The Downside To Energy Monitoring and Management  (Read 2969 times)

Cube

• Administrator
  • Contributor
    • View Profile
    • The Venturii Adventure
The Downside To Energy Monitoring and Management
« on: December 05, 2015, 12:54:46 PM »
I've been tracking my utility usage with Venturii for quite a few years now. At first it was merely an amusement to me, but as my budget grew tighter it became an invaluable tool for making effective changes to the way I consume energy. One of the greatest challenges we as consumers face when it comes to our energy consumption is that there are not a lot of convenient ways to monitor this information in a timely manner - most of us have no idea how much energy or water we've used until we get our bill in the mail a month later, and by that time several weeks have already past since that data was collected. This cumulative total every 30 days gives only the broadest glimpse of our utility consumption patterns, and provides almost no information about influences like "How cold was it outside? How many hours of sunshine did I have to compensate with artificial light? How many times and/or how long did I run the stove, dryer, furnace, etc. this month?" Venturii's real-time feedback on your consumption at any given point allows you to walk around your house and turn on or off appliances, lights, or devices and see right then and there how much of a difference it makes to your power consumption.